This Island’s Mine

Ariel was always here.

Caliban was born here.

And Stephano has just arrived.

They all claim ‘this island’s mine’. But do any of them have that right? And what happens if they can’t agree?

Set in the extraordinary world of Shakespeare’s The Tempest, Roustabout present a playful and daring exploration of the place we choose to call home. Filled with magic, music and mayhem, this show explores themes of colonialism, identity and place, encouraging young people to ask: Where do I belong? Where is my home? Is it truly mine?

For KS2 and above.

This is really speaking to our students… we can do something wonderful… this is cutting edge curriculum development.
Jo Jefferson, St Katherine’s

Tour dates

Date Venue
Sunday 19 September, 3pm Watermans, London
Friday 25 September The Poly, Cornwall
Saturday 2 October, 11am / 2pm Burton Taylor, Oxford
Sunday 3 October, 11am / 2pm Burton Taylor, Oxford
Saturday 9 October, 11:30am / 3pm The Egg, Bath
Saturday 16 October, 11:30am / 3pm Theatr Clwyd, Mold
Saturday 23 October, 2:30pm Bridport Arts Centre
Sunday 24 October, 2pm Exeter Phoenix
Wednesday 27 October, 2pm The Pound, Corsham
Thursday 28 October,  2pm Tobacco Factory Theatres, Bristol
Friday 29 October, 11am / 2pm Tobacco Factory Theatres, Bristol
Saturday 30 October, 11am / 2pm Tobacco Factory Theatres, Bristol
Sunday 31 October, 11am / 2pm Tobacco Factory Theatres, Bristol
Saturday 6 November Blackwood Miners Institute
Sunday 7 November Valley Arts, Chew Valley
This Island's Mine poster with three hands reaching towards desert island, plus logos: Roustabout and Tobacco Factory

This Island’s Mine for schools

Developed with the support of Tobacco Factory Theatres, This Island’s Mine will be available for schools in spring 2021. We are working with the One Bristol Curriculum and the University of Bristol to create a special filmed resource that will be made available to everyone who books.

This will include a full version of the production, that can be rewatched after the live performance, and a commentary on the play from experts, teachers, students, and the creative team, putting the play and its themes in its social and historical context, and giving stimuli for further debate and research.

Credits

Cast

  • Ariel: Kesty Morrison
  • Caliban: Robin Hemmings
  • Stephano: Eleanor Pead

Creative Team

  • Director: Toby Hulse
  • Associate Director: Oliver de Rohan
  • Designer: Maria Terry
  • Composer: Tarek Merchant
  • Lighting Designer: Jeremy Costello
  • Sound Designer: Oliver Wareham
  • Deputy Musical Director: Robin Hemmings
  • Movement Director: Alice Massey
  • Prop Maker: Tish Mantripp
  • Stage Manager: Benedict Guy Jones